YP Member of the Month: Mary Goodwin

Mary-member-of-the-month

What does YP mean to you and why did you join?

To me, YP means collective consciousness and concerted effort to better one’s self and one’s community.  I joined YP because I wanted to do “my part” to address the day-to-day issues negatively affecting people of color in NYC, and while I had – and continue to have – a ton of ideas,  despite my best intentions I’m only one person, and I can’t do it alone.  YP exposed me to a group of individuals with just as many ideas and just as much motivation, and together we are truly a force to be reckoned with. We encourage one another to be leaders and  seize the greatness that lays within, and that support is absolutely priceless.  I joined YP to serve my community and in the process I’ve met a number of talented  young professionals and formed friendships with awesome people.  As cliched as it may sound,  the one thing that I dislike about my joining YP, is that I didn’t do it sooner!

About Mary
Mary J. Goodwin, a Brooklyn native, is a disability civil rights attorney at Jo Anne Simon, P.C., and part-time writing coach. She’s a product of the NYC public school system, holds a Juris Doctor from Syracuse University, and a Bachelor of Arts in History & Political Science from St. Joseph’s College.  In addition to being a dedicated member of the YP Community Service & Civics & Economics committees, she’s also a member of several professional organizations committed to the full participation of persons with disabilities in higher education and employment. In her spare time she enjoys singing and cooking.

About NYULYP
NYULYP is a unique entity of the NYUL designed to serve as an empowerment forum for individuals ages 21-40 that live and work throughout the five boroughs of New York City. The organization trains, develops and educates young professionals to take leadership roles within the National Urban League (NUL), the civil rights movement and society-at-large.

Membership Criteria:
Be between the ages of 21-40
Pay annual membership dues ($75)
 
Membership Benefits:
  • Network with many of NYC’s most talented and socially conscious young professionals
  • Attend programs and seminars that will heighten your political awareness, increase your leadership abilities, and leverage your talents to fulfill community needs
  • Involvement in our standing communities: Civics & Economics, Community Service, Fund Development, Communications, Membership
  • Become apart of a deep rooted community-based organization with a long standing history of excellence in serving NYC’s least and under-served communities

HOW TO PROCEED:
Contact Cassandra St. Vil, Membership Chair if you have any questions and need additional information. If you enjoy meeting people and want to learn about the work of an exceptional organization, the NYUL, we invite you to JOIN NOW.

